Day: December 31, 2008

I dedicate this post to the United Nations and the Alliance of Civilizations on Earth — New Year’s Eve 2009 –

My thanks to the BBC for Picasso’s image of Guernica, and also their ongoing reportage of the events overseas.  I cannot thank you enough as an American for your journalism, both in the web and on television.

And to the Wikipedia, which might just be a tool to save the world from itself, for providing the link to the artist Picasso who painted this and why.

“…Guernica is a painting by Pablo Picasso, showing the bombing of Guernica, Spain, by twenty-eight German bombers, on April 26, 1937 during the Spanish Civil War. The attack killed between 250 and 1,600 people, and many more were injured. The Spanish rulers commissioned Pablo Picasso to create a large mural for the Spanish display at the Exposition Internationale des Arts et Techniques dans la Vie Moderne (1937) Paris International Exposition in the 1937 World’s Fair in Paris.

Guernica shows the tragedies of war and the suffering war inflicts upon individuals, and in particular, innocent civilians. This monumental work has eclipsed the bounds of a single time and place, becoming a perpetual reminder of the tragedies of war, an anti-war symbol, and an embodiment of peace. On completion Guernica was displayed around the world in a brief tour, becoming famous and widely acclaimed. Within fifteen days of the attack, Pablo Picasso began painting this mural. This tour brought the Spanish civil war to the world’s attention…”

I have chosen a poem of Lorca’s to accompany this painting.

“…Federico García Lorca (5 June 189819 August 1936) was a Spanish poet, dramatist and theatre director. An emblematic member of the Generation of ’27, he was murdered[1] by members of the fascist group Falange at the beginning of the Spanish Civil War.[2] A Spanish judge has opened an investigation of Garcia Lorca’s death, among the many others executed and disappeared, as a crime against humanity during the Spanish Civil War and the Franco years.[3]

I wish to thank the hypertexts.com for making this web page about Lorca in light of the tragedy in Gaza the world faces on this New Year’s Eve. And the members of the Alliance of Civilizations in this time.  I thank the United Nations, as an American for what they understand about the world since the time they were formed a very long time ago…”

My deepest thanks go to WordPress as well, for what they have made for the world.  The tool with which to communicate.

It is a very dark day for Humanity today.  But I know that Humanitarianism lives in this world of ours, because I know it in my heart, and that is why I understand the poet RUMI even though I am an American.  When Rumi speaks of Shams he speaks to all that is best inside the human heart and the human soul.

President Sampaio on Gaza from the Alliance of Civilizations webpage.

Gacela of the Dark Death

I want to sleep the sleep of the apples,
I want to get far away from the busyness of the cemeteries.
I want to sleep the sleep of that child
who longed to cut his heart open far out at sea.

I don’t want them to tell me again how the corpse keeps all its blood,
how the decaying mouth goes on begging for water.
I’d rather not hear about the torture sessions the grass arranges for
nor about how the moon does all its work before dawn
with its snakelike nose.

I want to sleep for half a second,
a second, a minute, a century,
but I want everyone to know that I am still alive,
that I have a golden manger inside my lips,
that I am the little friend of the west wind,
that I am the elephantine shadow of my own tears.

When it’s dawn just throw some sort of cloth over me
because I know dawn will toss fistfuls of ants at me,
and pour a little hard water over my shoes
so that the scorpion claws of the dawn will slip off.

Because I want to sleep the sleep of the apples,
and learn a mournful song that will clean all earth away from me,
because I want to live with that shadowy child
who longed to cut his heart open far out at sea.