Day: January 21, 2008

Growing up Democratic…(and an idealist)

Nonviolence is the answer to the crucial political and moral questions of our time: the need for man to overcome oppression and
violence without resorting to oppression and violence. Man must evolve for all human conflict a method which rejects revenge,
aggression and retaliation. The foundation of such a method is love.”

Martin Luther King, Jr., Nobel Prize acceptance speech, Stockholm, Sweden, December 11, 1964.
Quote above and more about Martin Luther King can be had here: http://www.mlkonline.net/quotes.html
Watching the split in the Democratic Party right now is very difficult for me. It’s because of the Democratic Leaders I grew up with that left such lasting impressions on me, in my childhood, starting with President Kennedy. Jimmy Carter was the president when I began to vote. He represents what I feel the Democratic Party is about at its root. You can read more about Carter here at The Carter Center.
There will be an important documentary on tonight as well, on PBS I plan to watch about Sargent Shriver
The way I see it, our present candidates cannot afford to get snarky. Don’t let this election devolve the spirit that those who served before you built. Our country faces so much right now, and it is time to address those things right now. The waste of money being spent on this whole campaign process is disgusting. That money would be better spent down in New Orleans housing the poor, or say, addressing the growing homeless problem state by state.
What would a real idealist do?
Here is an article from The Guardian.
Stop the infighting. To win the heart of the people you need to do something about what is happening in Michigan from today’s Los Angeles Times! It’s not just about this one industry is it? It’s about something crumpling. That wasn’t happening during the mid 60′s and through the 70′s was it?
Let Michael Moore do the documentary he wanted to do for the three of you. He’s been talking about this subject since Roger & Me.
What would impress me the most is the candidate who willingly gave all his or her campaign funds to a cause that would help the country. That’s idealism, and that is who I’d want to vote for.
In the meantime, many important essays can be found over on Huffpo. I’m reading Erica Jong. Just like I did in the ’70s. Her feminism spoke to me then, just as it does now.